Fiberside Chat: Beth Brown-Reinsel April 25th

Yarn Harbor

 This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Sunday, April 25th at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central, 2:00pm Mountain, 1:00pm Pacific.

European Knitting Traditions

From the Scottish Lowlands where the unique Sanquhar gloves developed, to Sweden, home of Tvåändsstickning (twined knitting), Norway (Selbu mittens and the Setesdal Lusekofter), and England (the gansey), Estonia (gloves the Troi, and mittens), and Latvian mittens, these countries (and more) have wonderful knitting traditions that can inspire us today, and teach us techniques that have faded from main stream knitting knowledge. Beth has examined 19th century garments in European museums for a better understanding of our knitting history. She will show slides of garments and details of construction methods that can be used today in our contemporary knitting and will be happy to answer questions.

Beth Brown-Reinsel has been teaching historic and traditional knitting workshops, nationally and internationally, for over thirty years. Her focus has been to bridge the gap from 19th century knitting, fashion, and culture to present-day practices, making a connection to women of older generations, their daily lives, and their handwork. She has traveled to over twenty countries (so far!) to research textiles, visiting museums to examine artifacts, gaining inspiration for the development of new knitting patterns and workshops. Her books, DVDs, and classes explore historic knitting techniques from many cultures, including the UK, Scandinavia, and the Baltic. Beth holds three knitting retreats each year in Vermont beyond her busy teaching schedule. Her work can be seen on her website (www.KnittingTraditions.com) and on her Patreon project (www.Patreon.com/BethBrownReinsel). 

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Sunday, April 25th at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central, 2:00pm Mountain, 1:00pm Pacific.

Your ZOOM Link will be sent the evening before and about 1 hour before the event. Check your spam filter if you do not see it.


Category: class, fiberside, fiberside chats

Don't miss out on sales and events! Your information is safe with us. We promise not to share.

x