Fiberside Chat Sarah Solomon

Yarn Harbor

This is a live one time Zoom Event on Sunday, March 7th at 6:00pm Eastern, 5:00pm Central, 4:00pm Mountain, 3:00pm Pacific.

Sarah Solomon started knitting as an adult fueled by a passion to knit sweaters.  A self-styled “sweater evangelist” she now works to bring more knitters into the sweater-knitting fold through her patterns and teaching.  With a background in woven construction and dressmaking, Sarah brings a love of details and fine finishing to her hand knitting designs and enjoys creating and teaching techniques that are simple to master but yield beautiful, long-lasting results.  One of her favorite techniques to share is a double-knit button band with self-reinforced buttonholes that lend a refined look and long life to a hand-knit cardigan.  Sarah will demonstrate the basics of the technique and show samples that make use of it.  She’ll also present an overview of her work to illustrate her approach to designing knitwear that combines elements of fashion, textile and applied design.

Sarah Solomon is a knitwear designer, writer and teacher based in New York City.  Her patterns and articles have appeared in Interweave Knits, Knitscene, knit.wear, Pom Pom Quarterly, and Vogue Knitting, and in collections by yarn companies large and small. She divides her time between designing and teaching and has also recently joined the editorial team of Vogue Knitting magazine.  Her interests include everything from traditional techniques to colorwork to fine finishing, with a particular emphasis on garment construction.  She is also an avid sewer and spinner and loves handwork in many forms.  In her design work, Sarah creates garments and accessories from exceptional yarns that are knittable, wearable and designed to last.  Find her patterns on Ravelry and follow her work at www.intothewool.wordpress.com or on Instagram as @intothewool.

 This is a live one time Zoom Event on Sunday, March 7th at 6:00pm Eastern, 5:00pm Central, 4:00pm Mountain, 3:00pm Pacific.

Your ZOOM Link will be sent the evening before and about 1 hour before the event.  

Check your spam filter if you do not see it.


Category: class, fiberside, fiberside chats

Don't miss out on sales and events! Your information is safe with us. We promise not to share.

x