Fiberside Chat Mary Jane Mucklestone

Yarn Harbor

17788

Spend an hour with Mary Jane as she tells the story of making her new book Fair Isle Weekend.

 In the book she invites you to join her on a trip to Fair Isle, a remote, windswept island in Shetland, famous for its traditional colorwork knitting. Mary Jane has been fascinated and inspired by the island's rich textile traditions, learning about Fair Isle knitting by looking at old textiles and sharing stories and knowledge with local knitters over cups of tea.

• Learn about traditional Fair Isle knitting and what makes it different than other stranded knitting traditions from around the world, and how knitting from Fair Isle differs from  stranded knitting in rest of Shetland.

• See beautiful examples of various motifs in Mary Jane’s stacks and stacks of swatches, and how she uses them as sketches for future designs. She will explain how the patterns in her book were developed, getting a glimpse into her design process.

• Watch Mary Jane demonstrate how she holds two strands of yarn, and how a Shetland knitting belt is used, although she admits she’s not very good at it. She believes there isn’t one way of doing things, and encourages knitters to find what works for them. Experimenting is half the fun!

So grab a cup of tea and some needles and yarn if you like, and join us!


This is a one time live Zoom event on Sunday October 25th: 3:00PM Eastern, 2:00PM Central, 1:00PM Mountain, 12:00PM Pacific


Category: class, fiberside chats

Don't miss out on sales and events! Your information is safe with us. We promise not to share.

x