Fiberside Chat

Join Live Online Chats with Some of Fiber's Most Exciting Creators

We’ve invited some of your favorite designers and creators to join us for a series of online gatherings with Longmont Yarn Shoppe: Fiberside Chats!

Launched in May of 2020, these gatherings hosted on Zoom, are one-hour sessions with special guests joining us to give a peek into their world. These designers and creators will discuss their unique path, creative processes, latest projects—or whatever is inspiring them now. There will also be a Q&A session, giveaways, and other fun surprises for those who join!

How to register: Register on Longmont Yarn Shoppe website, select YARN HARBOR from drop down menu. Check out.

As a participating shop we get credit for bringing our customers along!

Your ZOOM Link will be sent the evening before and about 1 hour before the event. Check your spam filter if you do not see it. 

NEW FOR YOU! 
If you have a conflict in your schedule for a particular chat, don't worry we've got you covered.  Many of our guests are allowing Zoom recordings of their Chat.  You'll be able to confirm this on registration.  Whether the chat will be recorded or not will be clearly stated for each chat. 
Recordings will be available for 1 week after the chat, only to registered attendees.   

Upcoming Chats:   

Woolly Wormhead
May 7th, 2022

The Magic of Sideways Knit Hats

This is a Hat knitting method so many folks associate with Woolly Wormhead and I’m keen to demystify it! I will talk about the construction method, and how there’s more than one method of knitting sideways. I’ll also discuss how our stitches and fabric properties change when we turn our work through ninety degrees, and the techniques we use to create a seamless Hat. We’ll cover why I love this method, it’s potential and how it differs to other Hat construction methods. It’s not going to be all technical - there’s lots of fun things to explore, and I’ve plenty of examples, schematics and deconstructed Hats to share!

This is a live Zoom Event on Saturday, May 7th at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific, 7:00pm CEST.

This Fiberside Chat will be recorded - a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only. 

 

Toni Lipsey
May 22nd, 2022

3 Classic Crochet Stitches Everyone Should Know

Join designer & instructor Toni Lipsey of TL Yarn Crafts for this live demo to add 3 classic crochet stitches to your toolkit and explore variations that appeal to both knitters and crocheters! Mastering just a few basic stitches opens your maker world to thousands of project ideas and giftable pieces. Toni will demonstrate each stitch, including row-by-row instructions, tips for incorporating colorwork, and how to use that stitch in a variety of patterns.
You are encouraged to learn alongside Toni during the chat. A handout will be provided and all you need is 2-3 colors of worsted weight yarn and a 6mm crochet hook. 

Toni Lipsey, the designer, instructor and author behind TL Yarn Crafts, strives to inspire others’ creativity through online tutorials and modern, approachable crochet patterns. Toni learned to crochet from her mother as a teenager and has been exploring the possibilities of yarn ever since. Her current design obsessions are oversized shawls and modern home decor. When she’s not crocheting, you can find Toni cuddled with her 2 kittens and husband in her Ohio home, binge-watching the latest true-crime thriller on Netflix. Follow her daily crochet journey on Instagram and pick up her book, The Tunisian Crochet Handbook, and patterns on tlyarncrafts.com

This is a live Zoom Event on Sunday, May 22nd at 3:00pm Eastern, 2:00pm Central, 1:00pm Mountain, 12:00pm Pacific & AZ.

This Fiberside Chat will be recorded - a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only. 

 

Stephen West
June 5th, 2022

Modular Magic

Join Stephen as he shares all about modular knitting with this colorful presentation. Learn how Stephen chooses colors and constructs his modular designs like architectural puzzles. Ask questions and enjoy all of the westknits inspiration!

This is a live Zoom Event on Sunday, June 5th at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific, 7:00pm CEST

This Fiberside Chat will be recorded - a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only. 

 

Marie Greene
June 19th, 2022

All About Ease - 10 Expert Secrets for Getting the Right Sweater Fit

Join designer & author Marie Greene for the inside scoop on sweater ease, choosing your size, and getting the fit you expect in your sweaters! Marie will share her top 10 secrets for sweater success in this delightful (and informative) chat.

This is a live Zoom Event on Sunday, June 19th at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific

 This Fiberside Chat will be recorded - a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only. 

Join our Email list and be the first to know about Special Events, Sales & More!

x